Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 6th, 2015

Rose - 2 become 1

I am telling you the story of the rose. It is a story of love.

It’s all about the boutonniere! I am a really good speller and I could not come close enough to the correct spelling of that word to get spellchecker to correct me.

On Sunday October 4, 2015, Tom and I joined other couples throughout the nine counties of Southwest Michigan at St. Augustine Cathedral. We were all celebrating 50 years or more of marriage. Bishop Bradley presided at the liturgy and I felt blessed beyond all that our children, their spouses and one of three grandchildren were sitting in the pew with us.

IMG_7253

As we prepared on Sunday morning, Tom presented me with a beautiful wrist corsage, which I thought had come from the children. But, in fact, Laura had suggested to Tom that he give me one, and that she would arrange it all and drop it off. He could pick up the tab later. When I saw my corsage, which was beyond beautiful,  I immediately thought Tom should have a boutonniere, but it was very close to departure time. What to do??

Sue with drape

I immediately put in an SOS call to Kathleen and asked her to check on the slight chance she could pick one up at the supermarket on her way. The odds were less than favorable.

When Tom and I arrived at the cathedral, we had a welcome at the entrance which included our congratulations certificate AND a corsage for me and…..a boutonnaire for Tom and all the other couples!

IMG_7255

Moments later, Kathleen and Greg arrive. And she has a beautiful red rose boutonnaire, handmade by herself (which I did not know until much later that night, having missed her phone texts in my left-behind cell phone).

Rose Single

Already pinned, we did not add this to Tom’s lapel, but I regret not having him loaded up with two beautiful flowers, one especially made from love.

Rose - 2 become 1

And the two shall become one.

The Mass liturgy and music were beautiful and reflective and evoked gratitude for the lives and loves we live. Greg and Kathleen had a 25 year Silver Anniversary this year and Carl and Laura are approaching their 20th Anniversary in the middle of this month. Ninety-five years of committed and intentional love between us. We each have a rewarding and demanding vocation. We look to each other all through our lives. We will ALWAYS be there for one another.

IMG_7258

cake

So today, like the news anchor men who dress “top down” and maybe/maybe not below the desk (rumored), I had Tom dress again in his dress shirt and favorite green sports coat and pinned the beloved red rose from Kathleen on so I could take an official photo shoot.

There was power in that flower……The power of a daughter’s love.

Rose - Happy Dad

Kathleen,  dad’s smile says thank you. Love you back.

Read Full Post »